Trackpants are the Trousers of Satan

letting goOr they are if you’re Karl Lagerfeld. Quoth he: “Sweatpants are a sign of defeat. You lost control of your life so you bought some sweatpants.”

I love him. He’s right up there with Gwyneth and Gisele for crazy opinions and pronouncements.

Another nugget of KL wisdom: “I’m a working-class person, working with class.” Isn’t he wonderful?

But, I digress.

I was inspired to write this post by my friend JA, who thoughtfully sent me the alluring illustration I have included in this post (you’re welcome, by the way), asking the question “Do men let their dress standards lower as they get older?”

I don’t think this is necessarily so for men or for women. I am sure there are some who just don’t care any more. There are some who never have. And, so what? Maybe these people have other things they’d rather do with their time, money, and energy. Conversely, and personally, I think that an outward impression of at least a modicum of attention to one’s appearance is a sign of inner self-respect. Plus, I like pretty shoes.

Having said that, I wear exercise pants every day. In public. You know why, Karl Lagerfeld? Because I am EXERCISING. I load Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong into the double stroller and do the school run (well, walk). And I think it would be a bit silly to do so in evening wear.

3 responses to “Trackpants are the Trousers of Satan

  1. Exercise gear has become a hot item in the fashion world now. They have realised that lots of people do exercise and that a lot of money can be made from it. The days of wearing the old T shirt and daggy pants though are becoming a thing of the past. How do I know this? I am an addict of the show Project Runway, especially the American one with Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn.

  2. Pingback: The Lost (and Found) Art of Taking Charge | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

