My Father Was A Lunatic

Dentist Riot

Fig. 1

And still is. And, he’d agree. Happily. During his speech at my wedding, he extracted a long-ago Father’s Day card, from me, from his suit pocket, which I had forgotten until that moment. In it, I had quoted Spike Milligan. My father, with great relish, read said quote: “My father had a profound influence upon me. He was a lunatic.” I adore my father. That’s him (see Fig. 1), snoozing with a teddy bear at a family friend’s party several years ago. When things are going well, one of his favourite sayings is “life wasn’t meant to be this easy!” with a feigned tone of astonishment.I was reminded of this last week when I read a rather radical statement in the thought-provoking book Intentional Parenting. The author, Dr Yvonne Sum, asks us to “imagine what it would be like to believe that life is easy.” She suggests that we “have been indoctrinated to believe these rules:

  • Life is bitter.
  • Suffer for your art – or else it’s not worth it.
  • Honest living comes from good hard work.
  • We work to live, we live to work.
  • Easy come, easy go.
  • It’s too good to be true.

… If your reality is to believe life is hard, evidence justifying that in your life validates the rule. Each event reinforces your belief that it is so – and you make decisions according to that reality. To change your reality, you must change the rules you live by.”

In other words, it is our learned attitudes and thought processes that make life more difficult and complicated and prosaic than it should or needs to be. I am convinced the universe lead me to this book and this idea after my crabby mood and subsequent vent last week. I was presented with just the opportunity and inspiration for the attitude adjustment I needed.

My life is easy. I am one of the luckiest people I know. Of course I have experienced suffering and tragedy. I do not think it is realistic to maintain a state of ecstatic joy during every life experience. However, quite simply, I can now see last week’s mental funk for what it was – a relapse into my old, habitual pessimism and melancholy. When I made the conscious decision at the beginning of the year to fall in love with life again, I knew it would require work, attention, reflection and, above all, action, and I knew it would not happen instantly. I choose to apply two of my new rules, gratitude and self-compassion, and sally forth.

“To me alone there came a thought of grief:

A timely utterance gave that thought relief,

And again I am strong.

No more shall grief of mine the season wrong.”

– William Wordsworth, Intimations of Immortality

PS – My father’s favourite song is the Monty Python classic, Always Look on the Bright Side of Life Apt, non?

8 responses to “My Father Was A Lunatic

  1. Your dad sounds great. Am following your struggle with melancholy closely as I am a lot like you in this regard. Take it easy and be kind to yourself, you are a good woman.
    bye
    L

    • He is a wonderful, hilarious, unusual man. Re melancholy, it is something that has aways been a part of who I am, even from quite a young age. I feel things, good and bad, very deeply, and find it difficult to “let go”. I do not think it is something to be ashamed of, or to quash completely. Part of my “journey” this year is learning how to acknowledge it, feel it, and then move past it again and not lose sight of the wonder and beauteousness of life, which I was realy in danger of doing last year. xx

  2. The old power of the mind, of the right attitude – reminds me of some Ghibran: “Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you as by the attitude you bring to life; not so much by what happens to you as by the way your mind looks at what happens.” This puts you in the drivers seat.

  3. Pingback: Home: Part 2 – Where is it? What is it? | marrickville maman·

  4. Pingback: International Blogger of Transparency | marrickville maman·

  5. Pingback: Christ Almighty! | marrickville maman·

  6. Pingback: Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

