Lesser Mountain Pygmy Goats, or, Why I Am Finally Learning To Trust My Instincts

pygmy goat

A Pygmy Goat. Adorable but stubborn. Rather like my daughter.

As previously discussed, I have been reading all manner of inspirational tomes in my quest to fall in love with life again. One key theme which is, in one form or another, common to all, are the notions of trusting yourself, becoming you who truly are and not what others expect, and being your authentic self. Rather than continuing to butt my head against this doorway to greater contentment, I have been consciously deciding to follow my instincts, trust my guts, and respond in the positive to that little voice in my head that says, from time to time, “Hey Kate, you need to try this / go there / read that / call them / etc”. Because I have at last learned that whenever I ignore this voice, I inevitably regret it and kick myself for not following its advice.Yes, I am a crazy person.But I know you know what I mean.

Here is (for me) a rather significant example of how paying attention to that little voice has paid off in a big way.

I have been, in a fairly half-arsed way, looking for some part-time work for the last few months. Because I am Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong’s primary carer, my availability is, at this point in my life, limited. I accept that work options are, thus, also limited.

Finally, a few weeks ago, I was suddenly sick of receiving positions vacant emails from the various online job databases filled with utterly unsuitable roles. I was over sending out job applications, only to hear absolutely nothing back. I logged onto Facebook and went for it, updating my status thus: “AMAZING ADMINISTRATOR AVAILABLE AT ONCE! With the kiddies settled into their new Big and Little School classes, I would love to use my extensive admin experience in any Inner West-based context from 9.30am to 2.30pm on Mondays and Tuesdays. Would your working life would be made easier and more organised with ten hours of efficient, focussed assistance each week? Do you know anyone whose would? Let me know! I am very good.”

And, what do you know? I am starting a fabulous part-time admin job next Monday. I will be working in a beautiful office filled with talented people every Monday and Tuesday from 9.30am to 2.30pm.

Thank you, me. Thank you, Universe. Thank you, my wonderful friend KW for responding and being a most humbling advocate. I am filled with gratitude, and owe you large quantities of Champagne. And, finally, thank you to my Super Tops Awesome Best Friend for suggesting this title. Your unusual brain is one of the many reasons I love you so much.

9 responses to “Lesser Mountain Pygmy Goats, or, Why I Am Finally Learning To Trust My Instincts

  1. That’s fantastic Kate. They are very lucky to get you as far as I am concerned. You make a very strong, positive first impression – and I know!

  2. Can you write me a reference for when I eventually go for a job? I’m thinking…

    “Dear Youse,
    Super Tops Awesome Best Friend has an unusual brain – hire her!
    Love Kate”

    P.S. Congrats again! xx

  3. I hear you Kate! Very inspiring. I particularly liked it when you thanked yourself – something we don’t do often enough. Note to self: Pay more attention to that voice in my head.

  4. Pingback: Redetox … or, something … | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

