Mawwiage

mawwiageI love The Princess Bride. I especially love Peter Cook’s hilarious cameo as The Impressive Clergyman. The reason I bring this up today is that it is our 9th wedding anniversary.

I can highly recommend my husband. Sadly, he is no longer available. He is by no means perfect (despite what he may say), but nor am I. He has withstood my slings and arrows of outrageous outrage, my depths of despondency, with admirable patience and love, love of the truest nature, which is not always soft and kind, but honest and strong.

As much as I dislike the word, marriage is a journey. I recently asked on Facebook if love and romance can co-exist. There were a few smarty-pants responses, including one from my friend Dreamboat (you know who you are) which suggested that getting married, having kids, getting divorced, and then marrying someone else was the way to go.

Now, I am not against this approach per se, but I would prefer to remain with my current husband, so I think I’ll give something else a burl, namely accepting that the first flush of excitement and attachment simply does not last, but, if you are lucky, and are willing to work together, it can be replaced by something so much more satisfying and real – true love. Deep understanding. Unbreakable connection. A shared life. A safe haven. I love you The Husband. xx

“Whenever I hear old chronicles of love, its age-old pain,
Its ancient tale of being apart or together,
As I stare on and on into the past, in the end you emerge.”
~ Rabindranath Tagore, “Unending Love”

2 responses to “Mawwiage

    • Thanks for your supportive comment! My husband had the wonderful suggestion that we use “adventure” rather than “journey” in future. Love it!

Leave a Reply

