Good Things Take Time

clockOr do they? I saw this statement somewhere or other on the interweb last night and found it irritating. I then asked myself why I found it irritating.

I think I have come to the conclusion that, in my quest to fall in love with life again that began early this year, I have been refocusing on the beauty and bounty of my life as it is, here and now, rather than wallowing in misplaced regret, self-pity, and “if only” thoughts (If only we had a nicer, bigger house, then I’d be happy. If only I could be in Paris, then I’d be happy. If only I had a completely different life, then I’d be happy. Ad nauseam.)

The “good things take time” statement made me feel tired. It made me feel as though everything must be strived for, fought for, waited for, planned for. That good things will happen “one day”, but only if you pay your dues. I know, I know. This is a typically melodramatic response. I also know that, of course, some good things do take time. That effort and patience are required. Champagne needs time. Fine aged cheese needs time. These are both very good things. You don’t decide to get fit and wake up fit the next day. More’s the pity.

As is my wont, I asked my Facebook peeps for their thoughts. NJ offered this: “Some of my most rewarding moments have been after goal setting, hard work, determination and then success after time.” Indeed. However, I loved this from KB: “Good things happen when you are open to seeing and appreciating that which is happening around you. Sometimes a good thing can take a long time if it’s a goal, but perhaps we should appreciate each of the stepping stones it takes to get there, not just end the result …”

One thing I am realising more and more, again and again, this year is now much power I have to affect real, positive change in my life immediately, just by choosing to do so and taking action. As NH succinctly put it: “Good things can be found and enjoyed every day!”

garbarWhen The Husband and I decided to postpone our plan to buy a new house, I decided to see our current house in a completely new light. I decided to love it, instead of only ever seeing its faults, the things that needed fixing, the grime. I decided to be grateful for having a home in Marrickville in a quiet street with lovely neighbours. I decided to agree with others that our front garden is the prettiest one in the street (thanks to the The Husband’s beautiful work). Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong each have a lovely bedroom filled with books and toys. I am delighted with the new layout of our lounge room (thanks again, Dad!) We’re planning a kitchen renovation later this year. The Good Thing that is my home is right here, right now. It always has been. The thing that took time is the arrival of my Good Attitude, but even that only took a moment to change once I decided to.

Good on me.

2 responses to “Good Things Take Time

  1. Dearest MM, as always another interesting read. Thank you. “Good things take time” AKA “good things come to those who wait” would have to fall under the category of “The worlds greatest generalisations”. In fact, I think I should start a blog dedicated this topic. God only knows I waited a long time to find the love of my life 14 years ago (at the ripe old age of 38). I waited. He then became my version of The Husband and he is “good”. Conversely, I’m a fan of a nice juicy piece of eye fillet, medium rare (get your mind out of the gutter, I am not comparing meat with meat). This good thing takes no time. And while I concur with MM’s comments regarding Champagne and fine cheese (so does a good Shiraz for that matter), the good news is takes no time to pop out to your local bottle shop or deli.
    Speaking of which……..

Leave a Reply

