Friends Don’t Let Friends Morris Dance

friendsMy Super Tops Awesome Best Friend is the kind of friend everyone should have. Of everyone I know, she is the person I can be the most real and true version of myself with. She is compassion personified, a patient foil to my reactionary hot-headedness, a judgement-free zone.

She is also something of a loony.

We no longer see each other very often. We each have two of those inconveniences called “small children”, who have somewhat curtailed a hitherto enthusiastically enjoyed social life.

Happily, though, we did manage a recent night out. We met, embraced, agreed that we had learned from bitter experience that hangovers and offspring do not mix, and vowed to not drink too much, or beyond 10pm.

Naturally, we proceeded to get extremely drunk, and parted ways some time after midnight.

Morris Dancing Newtown

The Super Tops Awesome Best Friend wrote in her own blog a couple of years ago about an eerily similar evening. The added extra of this most recent outing was the Morris Dancing taking place on King Street, Newtown, at 9pm on a Thursday night. I was sorely tempted to join in, but The Super Tops Awesome Best Friend deemed it unwise, given my complete lack of Morris Dancing ability, not to mention the absence of bells from my attire.

Despite this thwarting, I put aside my disappointment and we proceeded to have yet another boisterous, babbling night out. There was much sharing, venting, planning, snorting laughter and hugging. The next morning, despite a grey visage and churning innards, I also felt mentally and emotionally invigorated. This is the ultimate gift of having a best friend such as mine. I do not have to try. I can just be. Thank you xxxxxxx

5 responses to “Friends Don’t Let Friends Morris Dance

  1. Wow. That was incredibly beautiful. I don’t know what to say. Except thank you too. Everything you said is how I feel about you.

    Now, if you’ll excuse me, I seem to have something in my eye. Damn allergies and onions making my eyes water!

    P.S. You’ll be hearing from my lawyers about the “looney” slur.

  2. Never underestimate the freedom of having a friend who you can be completely honest with. It is a rare gift and one to be cherished and nurtured. What, by the way, is Morris Dancing??? I must be showing my age…….

  3. Pingback: The Lost (and Found) Art of Taking Charge | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

