Affirmative Reaction

I Love MeSo, affirmations. Doing them, so says Louise L. Hay, will cure you of all your ills – physical, mental, spiritual, psychological, what have youal.

“Yeah, right” I used to affirm to myself.

Ironically, in doing so, I was affirming that affirmations would not, could not, work.

To me (and I know I’m not alone here), the notion of saying such things as “I love you. You are my best friend” to myself seemed hilarious, ludicrous, embarrassing.

But then, what do you know, I tried it. I began saying affirmations to myself. I began saying “I love life”, “I am filled with love, and it comes back to me”, “I am strong and capable of handling all the experiences I face”, “I am grateful for this day, and it is filled with wonderful things”, “My new colleagues guide and nurture me. They recognise and help me develop my professional abilities and strengths”, “I am awake and alive in a loving, fortunate place”. And so on.

And, it works.

Affirmations are not spells. They simply put you in the right headspace to manage life with strength, positivity, and clarity.

Even if I have had a bad night’s sleep and have a fraught morning with Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong, and whether or not I have to be in public, or at work, or at home, I pause, think, breathe, and then ask myself, “Are we ready?” I then continue, with a semblance of poise, and without inflicting any negativity upon others. Or, at least, that’s the aim.

And I quote:

“If you believe the phrase you are what you think, then life truly stems from your thoughts. But we cannot rely purely on thoughts; we must translate thoughts into words and eventually into actions in order to manifest our intentions. This means we have to be very careful with our words, choosing to speak only those which work towards our benefit and cultivate our highest good. Affirmations help purify our thoughts and restructure the dynamic of our brains so that we truly begin to think nothing is impossible. The word affirmation comes from the Latin affirmare, originally meaning “to make steady, strengthen.” Dr Carmen Harra

“You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select what clothes you’re gonna wear every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind.” Eat, Pray, Love

One response to “Affirmative Reaction

  1. Pingback: I Am Enough | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

