What a Friend We Have in Cheeses

Image from The Stinking Bishops website.

Image from The Stinking Bishops website.

Now, as you know, I am not a religious person. However, I had an experience last week I can only describe as heavenly. I had a cheese platter at The Stinking Bishops. I have found my place of worship.

Hal-le-lu-jarlsberg.

Finding myself at leisure last Wednesday morn, I sent a message to The Super Tops Awesome Best Friend, enquiring if she was available for lunch. Happily, she was, and so we met at noon at The Stinking Bishops. It was the first visit for both of us. I can assure you it will not be my last. In fact, I would like to live there.

It is a small shop with a couple of tables on Enmore Road. Upon entering, I stood staring with ecstasy at the blackboard listing just some of the available cheeses. I was offered the full cheese menu to peruse, which I did with reverence and awe. Which cheeses to have? Where to begin?

I put my faith in the expertise of the cheesemonger and allowed him to guide me. I was presented with three sublime tranches of beautifully-kept fromage and almost wept. (Comte, Epoisses de Bourgogne, and Brillat-savarin, FYI).

I ate of the cheese and drank of the wine. I broke bread with my best friend. It was divine.

If you love cheese, you must go to The Stinking Bishops. I promise, you will thank me. (I accept all cheeses).

6 responses to “What a Friend We Have in Cheeses

  1. “I thought to myself, “a little fermented curd will do the trick,” so, I curtailed my Walpoling activites, sallied forth, and infiltrated your place of purveyance to negotiate the vending of some cheesy comestibles!”
    Why oh why didn’t we seize the opportunity to quote Monty Python on Wednesday? x

    • Spectator I: I think it was “Blessed are the cheesemakers”.
      Mrs. Gregory: Aha, what’s so special about the cheesemakers?
      Gregory: Well, obviously it’s not meant to be taken literally; it refers to any manufacturers of dairy products.

    • Customer: It’s not much of a cheese shop, is it?
      Owner: Finest in the district!
      Customer: (annoyed) Explain the logic underlying that conclusion, please.
      Owner: Well, it’s so clean, sir!
      Customer: It’s certainly uncontaminated by cheese…

  2. Pingback: The Lost (and Found) Art of Taking Charge | marrickville maman·

  3. Pingback: Detox Diary: Days 6 & 7 – Tofu, or Not Tofu? | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

