Throw Away Lines

simplifyHow I love throwing things out. Nothing makes me happier, in a domestic management sense, than having a good clean out of a drawer, a cupboard, a storage bin. Recently, I de-kidded my  loungeroom. No more  luridly-hued plastic toys on display, kids’ books stored in kids’ rooms, my novels and coffee table books out … it is a nice feeling, but a little bit sad, too. The baby stage has well and truly ended for us. Mademoiselle Headstrong now refuses even to sit in her high chair. That’s gone under the house for later disposal.

Of late, I have made up donation bags of toys, books, linens, and clothing. I put an enormous stack of magazines in the recycling bin. I threw away old make up and lotions. I went through my aged herbs and spices. I binned mystery items lurking in my freezer. Every object relinquished and removed made me feel lighter. To me, it made my home feel lighter.I will never be a true minimalist. I love the philosophy and the aesthetic. However, whilst recently reading Francine Jay’s Miss Minimalist: Inspiration to Downsize, Declutter, and Simplify, the following line gave me pause: “I’ve often wondered, if the place I live were suddenly struck by political unrest or natural disaster, could I walk out the door and leave everything behind?” I suppose I’d have to, but I know what she’s driving at is “leave everything behind without a sense of loss or regret?”

I don’t think so. You see, whilst I love my home to be orderly, tidy, and clutter-free, what remains are things I truly love, beautiful things, sentimental things, books and drawings and photographs and memories that could not be replaced. I hope I inhabit, literally and metaphorically, a place of happy medium – I do not feel compelled to either keep or discard everything. It is more a question of owning my possessions, rather than them owning me.I am an adherent of the rule that “if something comes into the house, something has to go out of it.” I also someone who cleans as I go. I believe in doing a little bit, often. I love the one-thing-each-day rule as well: removing just one thing each day from your home equals 365 unwanted or unneeded things gone in a year. Simple and effective, all. If you’d like to utilise my organising superpowers, let me know. I accept all forms of Champagne. “Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking.” Marcus Aurelius.

4 responses to “Throw Away Lines

  1. Pingback: Home: Part 1 – The Urge to Purge | marrickville maman·

  2. Pingback: I Am Enough | marrickville maman·

  3. Pingback: The Habit | marrickville maman·

  4. Pingback: You Down With OCC? | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

