Health: The Bald Facts

cucumbersAs mentioned in my previous post, I celebrated my 38th birthday the weekend before last. What was intended to be a small and quiet-ish party for close friends at home ended at 4am after copious quantities of alcohol were consumed, hours of loungeroom dancing (eg, my interpretation of Kate Bush in the Wuthering Heights video), and awful, awful singing (eg, The Husband and his best mate serenading each other with an emotional rendition of No Doubt’s Don’t Speak.)My unwellness following this occasion of overindulgence, coupled with a conversation the previous evening with a dear friend who has lost every hair on her body in recent months due to an as-yet-unidentified autoimmune disorder, proved to be a sobering combination (pun intended).

Look, I am basically a health-conscious person. I plan a balanced menu each week. I eat lots of vegetables, and some fruit. I do not overeat (I used to make the mistake of serving myself the same amount of food as my husband, who is somewhat larger than I). I enjoy the benefits of some of the more “faddish” food trends such as kale (kale chips are seriously delicious), coconut oil, quinoa, green juices. I exercise every day, in some way, even if it’s just a walk. It’s the every day bit that counts (to quote Sarah Wilson).small meal

On the flipside, though, I love a drink, and drink more than I should, which is something I am working on. I very, very occasionally smoke (this is so naughty). And I LOVE a McDonalds double bacon cheeseburger and fries. There, I said it.We all know that Gwyneth Paltrow says some truly out-of-touch-with-reality things. But she once described her approach to health as “finding the balance between cigarettes and tofu” which I actually like.

I am never going to be one for high colonics and juice fasts, but I do like to feel healthy and energetic and strong, not to mention fit into my clothes. My mum recently gave me my Year 12 high school jersey, which she had kept in a box for the last 21 years (eek!) It still fits. My son, Captain Chatterbox, asked me in amazement how this was possible now that I am so old. I simply replied, “I look after myself”.

3 responses to “Health: The Bald Facts

  1. You had me until I read that you can still fit into your old school uniform. Now I may hate you……not really, but you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

