Thrift Is ****ing Awesome

(With thanks to Macklemore for the title inspiration …)

Ithriftt probably won’t surprise those of you who know me that I was once a Girl Guide, and a Brownie before that. I LOVED receiving the various badges – First Aid, Collector, Booklover, Hostess, etc. One of the badges was, believe it or not, the Thrift Badge.

My anti-waste efforts have continued this week. I am actually enjoying the culinary creativity!

Sunday Afternoon – Quick Apple Cake (recipe by Stephanie Alexander)

This was inspired by two somewhat wizened apples lingering in my fruit basket. Everything else I had at hand, except for apple brandy (astonishinglcakey enough). Instead, I used two tablespoons of Butterscotch Schnapps (I still don’t know how this came to be in our house), but diluted vanilla extract would work as well. The baking cake smelled scrumptious and was a hit with The Husband as well as Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong.

baconSunday Evening – I had one lingering bacon rasher in the fridge.
The pink part I chopped to add to les enfants’ noodle stir fry. The remaining rind and fat I have chopped and frozen for delicious future use.

Monday Morning Dinner Prep – Meatballs in SuperVeg Sauce

An open, but almost full, jar of pasta sauce purchased on sale in the previous week’s shop had chopped carrot, mushroom, zucchini and shallot added to it, as well as thawed frozen spinach and sweet potato. Fresh oregano and basil from my garden saucegave extra fragrance, and a swirl of cream mellowed out the acidity of the tomato. A kid-friendly-ising stick blend finished it off. A small tray of meatballs from the freezer were thawed, browned and added. I left it to bubble away gently for about 20 minutes. It’s ready to be reheated, poured over linguine – my favourite pasta – and topped with parmesan. Nom nom nom.

Monday Lunch – Potato and Leek Soup

soupTwo less-than crisp potatoes, skin on, scrubbed, chopped. Half a sliced leek left over from last week. Sweated in butter and oil until soft. 500ml of leftover vegetable stock. Thyme from the garden. Simmer for half an hour. Add a blob of my labneh. Stick blend. Delicious.

Monday Beauty – Coconut Oil and Castor Sugar Facial Scrub

I am coconuts, let me tell you. Pure coconut water is as wscrubonderfully hydrating as they say. Coconut oil is a very healthy fat to cook with. It is also incredibly good for your skin and hair. I like to warm it and apply it as a hair mask. Adding a bit of sugar turns it into a brilliant facial scrub but, be warned, it is also delicious – I find it hard to not lick my lips.

Tuesday Breakfast – Cereal Surplus

Why do we have what seems like 85 different types of cereal in our pantry? I am not buying any more until what’s there has been eaten. So there.

Tuesday Lunch – Tasty Leftover Pasta With Meatballs

A perfect desk-bound work day lunch on a rainy day in the city … to be continued …

“I wear your granddad’s clothes
I look incredible
I’m in this big ass coat
From that thrift shop down the road.”

Thrift Shop, Macklemore

6 responses to “Thrift Is ****ing Awesome

  1. Pingback: Inglorious Fruits and Vegetables | marrickville maman·

  2. Pingback: Je N’ai Pas Une Cuisine | marrickville maman·

  3. Pingback: Leftover Parfait | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

