A Bacon Billet-doux

iggsUnlike Jules Whinnfield, I dig swine. Bacon tastes good. Perhaps a renewed love, nay, need of bacon, quite beyond the ordinary, was stirred by my recent kitchen-dearth, perhaps not. But; there it is. I said it. I have embraced it.Some of you saw my Facebook post yesterday (see pic); an image of strong coffee, two eggs sunny-side up, and two bacon rashers. The ultimate point of this post is not just how good bacon is, but how transcendentally good it CAN be.I am a Jamie Oliver fan. I love his latest series, “Comfort Food”. The most recent episode involved a “bacon sarnie” challenge, in which JO and his friend used two wildly different methods in the quest for perfectly cooked bacon rashers.Said friend’s method was to place the rashers in a COLD frypan, and only then turn the heat on to medium.Intrigued, I tried it out yesterday morning.I have never had the knack of preparing crispy bacon.

I do now.

12 responses to “A Bacon Billet-doux

  1. Pingback: The Lost (and Found) Art of Taking Charge | marrickville maman·

  2. Pingback: Fastbreak | marrickville maman·

  3. Pingback: Detox Diary: Day 2 – Macro (Organics) vs Micro (Dermabrasion) | marrickville maman·

  4. Pingback: Delicious and Nutritious | marrickville maman·

  5. Pingback: La Cuisine Sans Clutter | marrickville maman·

  6. Pingback: McDonald’s: i’m bloggin’ it | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

