Never Drink Crap Champagne and Other Handy Hints

retro housewife

I am a list lover. Lists relax me because I do not have to rely on my oft-malfunctioning mind tank to retain everything. Lists provide me with an enormous sense of satisfaction and achievement as I tick things off them. Lists are a nice, simple way of organising information.

I read then shared a lovely quote on Facebook this morning: “It’s not selfish to love yourself, take care of yourself, and to make your happiness a priority. It’s essential.” ~ Mandy Hale. It inspired me to list the things I do now that make me feel good, make me feel authentic. It is by no means complete – I intend to keep adding to my personal wellbeing list henceforth. I’d love to hear your tips – do please include them in the Comments section below for all to share!

(NB – I have included hyperlinks in some of my “handy hints” which will take you to information explaining why they’re here. I encourage you to click and read; “The best advice I ever got was that knowledge is power and to keep reading.” ~ David Bailey)

The Marrickville Maman “Handy Hints” List

1. Exercise is a way of honouring the strength of your body, and the way it carries you through life and enables you to experience all the pleasure and beauty life has to offer.

2. View food as both fuel/medicine, and a sensory pleasure.

3. Practice la dolce far niente daily.

4. Always drink the best champagne / sparkling white you can afford. This is non-negotiable. I only drink champagne when I’m happy, and when I’m sad. Sometimes I drink it when I’m alone. When I have company, I consider it obligatory. I trifle with it if I am not hungry and drink it when I am. Otherwise I never touch it – unless I’m thirsty.~ Lily Bollinger

5. If you must swear, swear in French.

6. Sleep naked.

7. Walk barefoot on the natural surfaces of the earth as often as possible.

8. If you’re reading a book you hate, stop. There are too many wonderful books to read to waste time on bad ones.

9. Weigh pasta before you cook it. It is way too easy to cook and then eat too much of it. 100g of dry pasta = one adult serving. It’s enough. Really.

10. Fresh flowers in my lounge room are a necessity.

11. Wearing uncomfortable bras is stupid. Ladies, this goes for you, too.

12. Make your bed every day. It will immediately make you feel more on top of things in your home environment. Plus it looks nicer.

13. Grow herbs. The woodier herbs such as rosemary and thyme are pretty much impossible to kill, even if your thumbs are as black as coal.

14. If you feel peckish, have a nice glass of water before you start gorging. It’s easy to mistake dehydration for hunger.

15. Diets are stupid. Eat a bit less, eat a lot better, and move around. It’s not rocket surgery.

16. Be polite and use good manners always, to everyone, everywhere.

17. Roast chicken is easy, economical, and delicious. Buy the best quality chicken you can afford. Put half a lemon and some thyme up its bottom. Slip a slice of butter under the skin over the breasts (the chicken’s, that is). Massage the skin with olive oil, salt, pepper, and some more thyme. Roast it at 220 degrees C for about an hour (depends on the size of the bird). Stab the thigh. If the juices run clear, it’s cooked. Delicious hot for dinner, cold for lunch, and with avocado on fresh bread.

18. Eat lots of fresh green leaves every day. They are nutritional powerhouses. “I’m still seriously freaked out when I hear an adult proclaim they don’t eat or like vegetables. It’s lazy and boring and clichéd.” ~ Jane Kennedy, OMG! I Can Eat That?

19. Swim in the sea. The health benefits include boosting the immune system, helping heal skin conditions such as eczema, psoriasis and rashes, easing aches and pains, moisturizing skin, relieving allergies, boosting circulation, and eliminating toxins. Sea water has nearly all the essential elements; the major constituents are magnesium, sodium, potassium, and calcium and these get absorbed through your skin. Salt water is exceptional for healing.

20. Fill your bath with warm water and add a cup of Epsom Salts. Lower yourself in and, I promise, you will instantly feel better. Your skin will absorb the magnesium which helps to ease stress and soothe muscles and nerves. The sulfates draws toxins from your cells. Epsom Salts also make a great exfoliator.

Again, I’d love to hear your tips – do please include them in the Comments section below for all to share!

Namaste xx

One response to “Never Drink Crap Champagne and Other Handy Hints

  1. Pingback: My B(F)ucket List | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

