Detox: A Process of Elimination

CoffeeWhen I initially signed up to do a two-week detox via Better Health in Stanmore, I thought “what a great idea!” I then almost immediately recalled an article I once read in Vogue UK abaout writer Plum Syke’s detox experience¬†at Austria’s Mayr Clinic, a Spartan establishment with a draconian approach to inner cleansing that sounds more like a prison camp where human experimentation occurs. Her pained references to “constant bathrooming” were somewhat alarming.

However, I was much reassured after last Thursday night’s detox prep workshop, during which we, of course, discussed what should be eliminated from our diets for the duration (meat, dairy, gluten, caffeine, alcohol – you know, nothing I’ll miss or anything), but also the many delicious, detox-friendly things we could still consume.

I spent Friday and Saturday industriously reading websites, blogs, and books to fashion my week one dinner menu. I am planning to post a daily update on my experiences, so I’ll chat about the individual meals then.

I was also most inspired about other toxin sources, namely, everything we put on our bodies – lotions, soaps, shampoos, conditioners, toothpaste, makeup, etc – our skin just soaks all the chemicals in and our bodies do their best to deal with them. At some point, though, our systems can become so overloaded with crap that we start to feel sick, puffy and gross. If you feel that way, take notice and take action.

I am now using shampoo and conditioner by Natural Instinct, and toothpaste that does not carry a warning on the tube about not ingesting it (seriously, have a look at your toothpaste tube). I am planning further changes over the coming weeks.

I can tell you now, though, one change I will not be making is adding V-Steaming to my self-care regime … oh Gwyneth, how I do love you …

5 responses to “Detox: A Process of Elimination

  1. Pingback: Detox Diary: Day 1 – “Why are you doing this?” | marrickville maman·

  2. Pingback: La Cuisine Sans Clutter | marrickville maman·

  3. Pingback: McDonald’s: i’m bloggin’ it | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

