Detox Diary: Day 8 – The Beauty of Detox

Brewing my daily jug of herbal worthiness, even as my husband cruelly taunts me with his coffee ...

Brewing my daily jug of herbal worthiness, even as my husband cruelly taunts me with his coffee …

As Week 2 of my detox dawns, I feel I must make a confession – I have not completely eschewed coffee. BUT! Before those tsk-tsks and tut-tuts start, allow me to explain.

A brilliant way to repurpose coffee grounds is to use them as a face and body scrub. Exfoliating with coffee grounds improves circulation, leaving you with smooth, glowing skin. The caffeine from used coffee grounds can temporarily reduce the appearance of cellulite and give your skin a firmer appearance.

I have been scrubbing my squishier bits for a few weeks now. I tried a coffee grounds face scrub for the first time last night and my skin still looks and feels beautiful.

There you go!

Obviously, toxins do not arrive in our bodies merely through what we ingest. The fact is, much of what we place on our skin is absorbed into our bloodstream. Just think about nicotine patches. Without being paranoid about it, I have started using body, hair and cleaning products with fewer chemicals:

I think that’s a good start.

3 responses to “Detox Diary: Day 8 – The Beauty of Detox

  1. If you are getting into less chemicals etc for cleaning, check out enjo. A bit expenisve to set up but brilliant. You won’t want to use anything else once you start using their products.

  2. Pingback: Detox Diary: Days 13 & 14 – Let the Retox Commence! | marrickville maman·

  3. Pingback: Redetox … or, something … | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

