The Husband Izz Tha Shizz

homeSo! Not only have I, in recent months, been diagnosed with both scoliosis and osteoarthritis, I can now add “pneumonia” to the list of stuff happening to my body that makes me feel as though I’ll be turning 79 as opposed to 39 next week.

I’ve had a cold for a few weeks. Who hasn’t, really? However, when I was awoken at midnight on Wednesday by agonising pain all down my left side from my shoulder to the bottom of my ribcage, clearly something a tad more serious was going on.

I struggled on through the wee small hours but finally broke at around 6am when, sobbing, I said to The Husband that I really thought it was best I get to our nearby hospital’s emergency unit. Bent double, I struggled into some warm clothes and out to the car whilst The Husband roused and readied Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong. I was, mercifully, seen to by a nurse within minutes, who asked me to rate my “discomfort” on a scale of one to ten. “Twenty five,” I replied. I was then poked, prodded, scanned, x-rayed, bled, and questioned before – finally – a little cup of magical pills was given to me, providing almost instant relief and a delightfully fuzzy head.

I was attached to dripping bags of fluid, tucked in bed, and informed that I had contracted pneumonia, which loves nothing better than attacking an already-compromised immune system, ie, mine.

I was allowed to go home yesterday afternoon, armed with prescriptions and under strict instructions to rest and recuperate. I arrived to find my house immaculately tidy, washing done, dinner prepared … The Husband had taken charge the way he knew would mean the most to me. I never thought I would ever say this, but I am so grateful for the way in which he has bossed and bullied me into sitting down, staying in bed, having a warm bath, stop trying to be a hero, etc.

Aside from only being able to lie on my right side, I had a marvellous sleep last night. The drugs I am taking obviously helped, but just feeling warm, safe, secure and cared for had the most impact.

Captain Chatterbox and Mademoiselle Headstrong are staying with my mum and dad for the next five days, meaning true peace and quiet for me. Relieved sigh. Before he left for work this morning, The Husband said, “You are NOT to do ANYTHING around the house today. Everything’s either done or can wait. If I come home and find you’ve started any ‘projects” I will not be happy.”

Alrighty, then …

Oh, the last thing I want to brag about re The Husband is that he was appointed his company’s Head of Philanthropic Services last week , and is also now a Board Member of the Arts Health Institute.

Plus, he makes the best ragu I’ve ever tasted, and does a mean duet of “Let It Go” with Mademoiselle Headstrong.

One response to “The Husband Izz Tha Shizz

  1. Pingback: WordPress: The Maman Re-awakens | marrickville maman·

Leave a Reply

