I’m A Rocket … Person …

harvestThis post is a brief follow up to #99, in which I shared my horticultural glee at the appearance of my very first snow pea.Today, I undertook my inaugural harvest, a feat which lasted an exhausting three minutes, and consisted of four snow peas and a handful of baby rocket leaves (see image).

Yes, it was modest, but it is a deeply gratifying feeling to eat something you’ve yourself grown.

The snow peas were sweet, tender, and tasted like the essence of pale green. The tiny rocket leaves embodied (emleaved?) innocence, yet packed a potently peppery punch. Yum yum.

I urge you to grow something edible, even if it’s a small pot of your most-used culinary herb on your windowsill. It is immensely, immensely, satisfying.

Leave a Reply

