MMXVI

gervais

Ricky Gervais in the bath. Just because.

“Everybody’s talking about this new decade. It’s like you say the magic numbers and just say goodbye to the stupid mistakes you made.”

Granted, this was George Michael referring to the dawn of the – ahem – 1990s, but the point he was making is that there is no mystically foretold and decreed day or date to end, amend, or begin something. However:

“a powerful energy happens when so many people are heading for the same goal, and it is hard not to get swept up into the energy of change. When we put away the holiday decorations, we feel a sense of wanting to clean and cleanse and start anew on a fresh track.” ~ Madisyn Taylor, DailyOm

The concept of “the new year’s resolution” is ancient and cross-cultural. Regardless of creed, the point is the annual reflection upon achievements, errors, and self-improvement. Many people make resolutions, and break them. This is why many other people are dismissive of the concept. I spent a lot of time in December pondering what I want my 2016 to look like, and how I could set myself up to successfully attain my goals.

“The most common reason for participants failing their New Years’ Resolutions was setting themselves unrealistic goals (35%), while 33% didn’t keep track of their progress.”*

In a marvelously synchronistic way, I learned about The Business Bakery’s 100 Day Goal via an e-newsletter I subscribe to. “Bing!” clanged a very loud bell in my head. Whilst it is designed for small business owners, my “business” is that of writing, both creatively and professionally. I write fiction (unpublished FOR NOW), I have my blog (in case you didn’t realise), and I am the communications manager for an education-based charity.

My 100 Day Goal pursuit is twofold – I have set myself daily writing tasks and targets, and I have committed to paying a whole new level of attention to my health and well-being habits. Whilst I admit the 1st of January was a bit of a write-off (damn you, Champagne!), I have otherwise met my daily goals. It gives me great satisfaction each evening to note down my achievements in the table I set up in Word. I am keeping track of my progress.
Breaking down the two ultimate goals into highly manageable, stress-free bits and pieces to do each day when it suits me and fits in with the framework of my life makes achieving them entirely realistic.
“What you do every day matters more than what you do once in a while.”

  ~ Gretchen Rubin

The lesson I am taking with me during 2016 is the liberation that comes with getting out of my own way, and by not giving a fuck about shit that doesn’t matter. (I highly recommend Sarah Knight’s new book The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k).

“One thing I know for sure, my writing is going to get more honest and braver this year – that is my promise to you. Less concerned with what others may think and more loyal to what I believe is possible, and what I believe must change.” ~ Tara Mohr

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OTHER MM BITS YOU MIGHT ENJOY FROM THE ARCHIVES …

~ You Down With OCC?

~ The Habit

~ The Lost (and Found) Art of Taking Charge

 


One response to “MMXVI

Leave a Reply

